Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Sarah Lotz

@ Sunday Times Books LIVE

Sarah Lotz Latest

Day Four

Day Four is Lotz’s extraordinary, unmissable follow-up to the book that made headlines around the world, The Three.

Four days into a five day singles cruise on the Gulf of Mexico, the ageing ship Beautiful Dreamer stops dead in the water. With no electricity and no cellular signals, the passengers and crew have no way to call for help.

But everyone is certain that rescue teams will come looking for them soon. All they have to do is wait. That is, until the toilets stop working and the food begins to run out. When the body of a woman is discovered in her cabin the passengers start to panic. There’s a murderer on board the Beautiful Dreamer … and maybe something worse.

ISBN-13: 9781444775372
Purchase now

* * * * * * * *

The Three

Four simultaneous plane crashes. Three child survivors. A religious fanatic who insists the three are harbingers of the apocalypse. What if he’s right?

The world is stunned when four commuter planes crash within hours of each other on different continents. Facing global panic, officials are under pressure to find the causes. With terrorist attacks and environmental factors ruled out, there doesn’t appear to be a correlation between the crashes, except that in three of the four air disasters a child survivor is found in the wreckage.

Dubbed ‘The Three’ by the international press, the children all exhibit disturbing behavioural problems, presumably caused by the horror they lived through and the unrelenting press attention. This attention becomes more than just intrusive when a rapture cult led by a charismatic evangelical minister insists that the survivors are three of the four harbingers of the apocalypse. The Three are forced to go into hiding, but as the children’s behaviour becomes increasingly disturbing, even their guardians begin to question their miraculous survival …

ISBN-13: 9781444770360
Purchase now

Watch the book trailer here:

* * * * * * * *

Tooth and Nailed

Georgie Allen – Cape Town’s most down-at-heel lawyer – is back, and this time he’s … Well, actually, he’s doing just fine. That is if fine can be classified as taking on a case for a promiscuous professor who may or may not have murdered one of his students, dealing with South Africa’s first gay divorce, and coping with feelings of inadequacythanks to the hotshot attorney he’s hired to pick up the slack at his office. On the upside, his relationship with the Witch, his sharp-talking ex lover, is on a better footing, but that’s only because she’s unaware of his burgeoning relationship with her clerk, Carmen.

But Georgie’s messy love life and even messier practice are put into perspective when he receives a panicked call from his brother, gung-ho game ranger, Greg. One of Greg’s clients – a twelve-year-old child – has been blinded in a horrific hyena attack, and the victim’s parents are accusing Greg of negligence. With his brother’s career on the line, Georgie heads into the Botswanan bush to investigate, accompanied by his ever-present sidekick, feisty Scottish Advocate Patrick McLennan (aka the Poison Dwarf). While there, the twosome face adversaries even the Poison Dwarf finds hard to handle, and Georgie finds out that the courtroom isn’t the only place where his adversaries like to fight dirty.

ISBN-13: 9780143026341
Purchase now

* * * * * * * *

The Mall by SL Grey

Warning: The Mall will chill your blood, pump your adrenaline, and leave an imprint on your brain. Don’t expect any sleep once you’ve turned the page…

Dan works at a bookstore in a deadly dull shopping mall where nothing ever happens. He’s an angsty emo-kid who sells mid-list books to mid-list people for the minimum wage. He hates his job.

Rhoda has dragged her babysitting charge to the mall so she can meet her dealer and score some coke. Now the kid’s run off, and she has two hours to find him. She hates her life.

Rhoda bullies Dan into helping her search, but as they explore the neon-lit corridors behind the mall, disturbing text messages lure them into the bowels of the building, where old mannequins are stored in grave-like piles and raw sewage drips off the ceiling. The only escape is down, and before long Dan and Rhoda are trapped in a service lift listening to head-splitting musak. Worst of all, the lift’s not stopping at the bottom floor.

Plummeting into the earth, Dan and Rhoda enter a sinister underworld that mirrors their worst fears. Forced to complete a series of twisted tasks to find their way out, they finally emerge into the brightly lit food court, sick with relief at the banal sight of people shopping and eating. But something feels different. Why are the shoppers all pumped full of silicone? Why are the shop assistants chained to their counters? And why is a cafe called McColon’s selling lumps of bleeding meat? Just when they think they’ve made it back to the mall, they realise their nightmare has only just begun…

The Mall is perfect for fans of cool cult films like “Fight Club”, “The Cube”, “Trainspotting” or “28 Days Later”, as well as fans of gory horror films like “Saw” and “Hostel”, and also for readers of contemporary horror novels like “Let the Right One In” or “The Graveyard Book”, and for fans of Clive Barker or Stephen King.

ISBN-13: 9781848878860
Purchase now

* * * * * * * *

Deadlands by Lily Herne

Ten years after Cape Town was destroyed in the War with the living dead, zombies ramble free in Cape Town’s suburbs (known as the Deadlands), and the remaining living are either in fenced in on farms or in urban shantytowns.

The living are watched over by the mysteriously robed Guardians, a race of humanoid figures who appeared at the end of the War and who keep the living dead at bay, albeit for a steep price. Every year the Guardians stage a human Lottery and select five aspiring teenagers to be whisked out of the enclave for a secret purpose. To be one of the chosen five is a highly sought after and prestigious accolade.

No one (yet) knows why it is that the Guardians prize teenage bodies so highly, how they control the zombies or what they look like under the robes that cover their bodies…

ISBN-13: 9780143527695
Purchase now